Baked Chocolate Pudding Recipe from 1877

IMG_2031

An 1877 cookbook, Buckeye Cookery and Practical Housekeeping, has several recipes for baked pudding. I decided to prepare one for chocolate pudding.

The recipes in this cookbook generally leave a lot to the imagination, but ingredient measurements were given for this one.

I scalded 4 cups of milk with three ounces of unsweetened baking chocolate. While this cooled, I separated five egg yolks and set aside the egg whites for a meringue topping.

IMG_2026When the chocolate mixture cooled, the egg yolks were added along with one cup of sugar. The mixture was poured into a prepared baking dish.

No suggestions were provided for baking times or temperatures so I baked it at 350 until softly set, about 40 minutes.

In the meantime, five tablespoons of sugar were added to the egg whites and mixed at a high speed until white and fluffy, about two minutes in a countertop mixer.

IMG_2021After the pudding cooled, this meringue was spread over the top and browned in a 425 oven.

My pudding was too runny. It was also too sweet, so I tried again.

I reduced the sugar to ¾ cup. I increased the oven temperature to 375 and baked about 40 minutes. The consistency thickened on the second batch of pudding, though it wasn’t as thick or smooth as I’m used to seeing.

The original recipe is from 1877 cook, Miss Greeley Grubbs of Richmond, Indiana.

I’m a chocolate lover. This chocolate pudding tasted yummy. If you want to reduce calories, leave off the meringue. I’d love to hear if you try it.

-Sandra Merville Hart

Source

Compiled from Original Recipes. Buckeye Cookery and Practical Housekeeping, Applewood Books, 1877.

 

 

 

