Simple Wassail Recipe

blog-041

My husband and I invited a few friends over for an “old-fashioned” Christmas party.

I wanted to serve wassail but couldn’t find a century-old recipe in any of my cookbooks.

I knew that wassail were warm mulled drinks from earlier research. Beverages became “mulled” when heated with spices and some type of sweetener.

Wassail later was made with mulled cider, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and sugar. The toasted bread that topped the drinks centuries ago didn’t sound very appetizing so I decided against adding it.

Since I didn’t know the amount of spices used, I experimented with the following recipe. It turned out perfectly.

Wassail

1 gallon apple cider

2 sticks of cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ginger

½ teaspoon nutmeg

½ teaspoon whole cloves

Combine ingredients in a crockpot and turned the setting to low heat about two hours before serving. It may need to warm on high the last half hour until it reaches the desired temperature. Then return it to a lower setting to keep it ready to serve during the evening.

This was a yummy beverage on a cold evening!

-Sandra Merville Hart

 

 

 

One thought on “Simple Wassail Recipe

  1. Pingback: Evening Amusements for Old-Fashioned Themed Parties – Part 1 | Sandra Merville Hart

Comments are closed.