The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

51czpwoashl“It’s not a happy book.”

That’s what a family member told me even as he urged me to read this novel.

This book is not my normal genre. The disjointed way in which it is written required some patience. I would have given up on the story early on except for a loved one’s comment that this book was “one of my top five books I’ve read.”

The author’s constant interruptions to explain backstory and foretell future events prevented me from becoming emotionally involved for half the book. Then I became engaged and lost several hours of sleep trying to finish it.

The book thief, a girl living in Germany at the time of Hitler, endures countless difficulties and suffers many losses. The power of the story strengthens and escalates toward a climax that made my heart hurt.

Recommend.

-Sandra Merville Hart

Amazon

