Gettysburg: A Testing of Courage by Noah Andre Trudeau

This nonfiction book tells the story of the Battle of Gettysburg. Military events are recorded along with what happened in and near Gettysburg in the days leading up to the famous battle.

So much happened during the three-day battle that the author includes each day in a single chapter, taking events in chronological order—sometimes in hourly increments.

The chapter for the second day’s fighting, for example, is well over one hundred pages. Lots of wonderful details! There are many helpful maps showing troop movements throughout the book.

Great book for history lovers and anyone interested in the Battle of Gettysburg and the Civil War.

-Sandra Merville Hart

2 thoughts on “Gettysburg: A Testing of Courage by Noah Andre Trudeau

  1. Thanks for this information. I’m reading another book by this author, titled “Southern Storm” which has been quite captivating. I know this one will be, also. I wish I’d read this particular book, “Gettysburg,” before our tour there a couple of days ago. However, the small amount of pre-vacation research and the abundance of information in their top-notch museum helped me appreciate my visit and understand the history there. I definitely want to return to Gettysburg! Btw, a man working at the David Wills house museum… where Lincoln stayed… said the proper pronunciation is get-is-burg. It’s because the town is named after a man whose last name was get-is. My husband & I learned this information at the start of our day there. But we never heard, not even on the documentary sound tracks, anyone say get-is-burg. Since then, I’ve checked dictionaries and PronounceNames dot com and all have the long E sound in the middle. Interesting? I thought you may like this bit of trivia, Sandra.

    Like

    • Kathy, it sounds like you got to experience the battle day anniversaries in Gettysburg! How awesome. I want to do that someday. I don’t remember anyone telling the specific pronunciation of the town. What a fun tidbit! I went there the last time to research for my novel releasing in 10 days, A Rebel in My House. It shows not only what happened on the battlefield but also what happened in town. The citizens endured a nightmare, too. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Comments are closed.