Book Shelf

Sandra’s third Civil War romance, A Musket in My Hands, follows two sisters as they disguise themselves as soldiers and join the men they love in the Confederate army–just in time for the war to grow progressively difficult for Southern soldiers. Tough marches lead them to the Battle of Franklin. How can anyone survive? This novel releases on November 30, 2018—the anniversary date of the Battle of Franklin!

The book cover will be designed shortly. Hoping to share the cover with you soon!


Sandra’s newest novel, A Rebel in My House, is a Civil War romance set in Gettysburg during the famous 1863 battle. This novel was awarded 2018 Illumination Silver Award! 


When the cannons roar beside Sarah Hubbard’s home outside of Gettysburg, she despairs of escaping the war that’s come to Pennsylvania. A wounded Confederate soldier on her doorstep leaves her with a heart-wrenching decision.

Separated from his unit and with a bullet in his back, Jesse Mitchell needs help. He seeks refuge at a house beside Willoughby Run. His future lies in the hands of a woman whose sympathies lay with the North.

Jesse has promised his sister-in-law he’d bring his brother home from the war. Sarah has promised her sister that she’d stay clear of the enemy. Can the two keep their promises amid a war bent on tearing their country apart?

Endorsements for A Rebel in My House:

“Sandra Hart has crafted a brilliantly fresh look at not just the Battle of Gettysburg, and the soldiers of both sides who fight it, but also the civilians of Gettysburg who are helplessly pulled into the horrible maelstrom of battle like leaves to a tornado. Meticulously researched, and written with a flowing style that effortlessly pulls the reader from page to page, this is the best novel of Gettysburg since ‘The Killer Angels.’”

~ Kevin Spencer

Writer, historian

Author of This Day in North Carolina History

“As usual, Sandra Hart gives us another interesting and vibrant tale set during the Civil War era. Her research is inherently real and true, characters are alive and relateable, and the setting draws the reader to the book. I heartily and readily recommend this book to not only lovers of historical fiction, but to all who long for a satisfying and worthy read; a book that will end up on your keeper shelf and one that you’ll want to re-read in the future.”

~Carole Brown

Award winning Romantic Suspense novels

Author of the Amazon best-selling  The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman


Rebel in my House is another top-notch Civil War romance from Sandra Merville Hart. Her detailed historical research on the battle of Gettysburg will put you in the middle of the fight and make you feel the terror and heartbreak of a war that tore our country apart. With a gentle, deft writing style she pulls you into the lives and the hearts of her characters. This keeper book is one you’ll want to not only re-read, but share with lovers of sweet romance as well as historical fiction.”

~Catherine Castle

Author of multi-award-winning The Nun and the Narc 

and A Groom for Mama









Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas – Use coupon code SandraMHart for a 20% discount on Lighthouse Publishing books!

Barnes & Noble


Sandra’s first book in the Civil War series:

A Stranger On My LandCarrie and her little brother, Jay, find a wounded soldier on their land after a battle which later became known as “The Battle Above the Clouds.” Adam, a Union soldier, has been shot twice in the arm. Though Carrie is reluctant to take Adam to their cave where her family hides their livestock from both armies, she cannot turn her back on him.

But her Aunt Lavinia, bitter over what Yankees have done to their land, urges Carrie to allow Adam to die. Carrie refuses, but cannot remove the bullets. Adam’s friendship with Jay softens her heart toward him. It’s not long until his gratitude and teasing manner spark a friendship between the young couple. Even though Carrie’s father fights for the Confederacy in far-off Virginia, her feelings for the handsome young soldier begin to blossom into love.

When Adam’s condition worsens, Carrie knows a Union surgeon is needed to save his life. How can she accomplish this and keep her family’s hiding place a secret?

Now available in audiobook!!! Narrator Robin Jasper does an excellent job captivating and holding her listener’s interest. Available on  Amazon!


  • I pretty much devoured this book, not wanting to stop reading, even after the end! You’ll enjoy this book no matter what your preferred reading genre is. A good story is always worth reading, and that’s what this is. Enjoy! Nancy Bolton, Amazon Reviewer
  • The descriptions of the area and the characters made me feel like I was right there beside them. I read many historical fiction stories and enjoyed this one tremendously. I suggest you give it a try. Grams513, Amazon Reviewer
  • Very exciting and captivating. Held my attention well. Looking forward to the next in the series. Martin Wiles, Goodreads Reviewer
  • I am not typically a reader of historical fiction. I grabbed this book as it was set on Lookout Mountain where both my kids attend college. What a treat!! I loved the characters and the realistic setting. I was captured and drawn in by the characters on page 1! I thoroughly enjoyed this book!! Gwen, Goodreads Reviewer

 Buy links:

Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas – Use coupon code SandraMHart for a 20% discount on Lighthouse Publishing books!


Barnes & Noble


One thought on “Book Shelf

  1. Pingback: A Rebel in My House by Sandra Merville Hart - My Review - angela arndt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.