Book Shelf – Spies of the Civil War Series

Book Shelf – Spies of the Civil War Series

Gold Illumination Award for Romance Fiction: Byway to Danger, Book 3 in Spies of the Civil War


Avenue of Betrayal, Book 1 of “Spies of the Civil War” series, released February 8, 2022. It’s available at the following retailers:

AmazonBarnes & Noble, KoboApple Books

Here’s a bit about the book:

Betrayed by her brother and the man she loves … whom can she trust when tragedy strikes?

Soldiers pour into Washington City every day and begin drilling in preparation for a battle with the Confederacy. Annie Swanson worries for her brother, Will, whom she’s just discovered is a Confederate officer in his new home state of North Carolina. Hiram, her wealthy banker father, swears her and her sister to secrecy even as Annie battles feelings of betrayal by her adored big brother. How could he forsake their mother’s abolitionist teachings?

Sergeant Major John Finn camps within a mile of the Swanson’s mansion where his West Point pal once lived. Sweet Annie captured his heart at Will’s wedding last year and he looks forward to reestablishing their relationship—until he’s asked to spy on her father.

To prove her father’s loyalty to the Union, John agrees to spy on them though Annie must never know. Then the war strikes a blow that threatens to destroy them all.

Boulevard of Confusion, Book 2 of “Spies of the Civil War” series, released May 10, 2022. It’s available at the following retailers:

Amazon, Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes & Noble

Here’s a bit about the book:

In times of war, is anything as it seems?

Her aunt’s invitation to Richmond is just the change Beatrice Swanson needs after her brother’s release from a Union prison. Bea’s father agrees to the trip with a condition—one that tosses her emotions into swirling confusion.

Though Jay Nickson wants to serve his country as a Confederate soldier, his work is too important to the government. Bea’s interest in his job, which includes secrets that would benefit the Union, arouses his suspicions. Is she spying for the North? His growing feelings for her are hard to squelch.

Though she participates in activities to benefit Confederate soldiers, Bea struggles with her own loyalties and her father’s demands. Where does her cousin, Meg, go on her solitary errands? Bea’s own growing love for Jay, a Southerner, only adds to her confusion. Tensions escalate in Richmond as the Union army approaches, drawing her into more secrecy. Where does her allegiance lie? And how will she be forced to prove it?

Nothing in war is simple…especially when the heart becomes entangled.

Byway to Danger, Book 3 of “Spies of the Civil War” series, released July 19, 2022. It’s available at the following retailers:

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Apple Books, Books 2 Read

Here’s a bit about the book:

Everyone in Richmond has secrets. Especially the spies.

Meg Brooks, widow, didn’t stop spying for the Union when her job at the Pinkerton National Detective Agency ended, especially now that she lives in the Confederate capital. Her job at the Yancey bakery provides many opportunities to discover vital information about the Confederacy to pass on to her Union contact. She prefers to work alone, yet the strong, silent baker earns her respect and tugs at her heart.

Cade Yancey knows the beautiful widow is a spy when he hires her only because his fellow Unionist spies know of her activities. Meg sure didn’t tell him. He’s glad she knows how to keep her mouth shut, for he has hidden his dangerous activities from even his closest friends. The more his feelings for the courageous woman grow, the greater his determination to protect her by guarding his secrets. Her own investigations place her in enough peril.

As danger escalates, Meg realizes her choice to work alone isn’t a wise one. Can she trust Cade with details from her past not even her family knows?